I’m back with a review for Rachel’s Random Resources, for the enchanting Escape to Giddywell Grange by Kim Nash.

BOOK DETAILS

Title: Escape to Giddywell Grange

Author: Kim Nash

Length: 85 000 Words

Purchase On: AmazoniBooks, Kobo

Blurb: 

Maddy Young thought she had it all.

Swanky city apartment? – yep. Fancy car? sorted. High-flying career? – tick.

Even if she’s lost most of her friends because of spending all her time at work, and can’t remember when she last had fun, it’s worth it.

Until she’s suddenly made redundant. Now she’s 37, jobless, and after the breakup with the former love of her life, unhappily single.

Enter Maddy’s childhood friend, Beth, the owner of Growlers, the doggy daycare centre at Giddywell Grange, on a mission to make Maddy see there’s more to life than work.

Soon, Maddy is swapping spreadsheets for volunteer duty at the library, daily Starbucks for cups of tea with elderly neighbours, and her Prada handbag for doggy poo bags… And with Beth’s gorgeous brother, Alex, back from the States, Maddy starts to think that Giddywell Grange might just be her happy place.

But when her old life – and her old boyfriend – comes calling, will Maddy go back to the job she loved so much? Or will she discover that the key to happiness lies in making others happy?

An uplifting romantic comedy that will warm your heart – perfect for fans of Cathy Bramley, Milly Johnson and Katie Fforde.

Escape To Giddywell Grange CoverMy Review

First Impressions

I was really looking forward to reading this and the author didn’t disappoint – throwing us straight into the action with Maddy’s life taking a quick downward spiral.

The Writing

Kim Nash has a very relaxed style of writing, and the first person POV really brings that out. Initially Maddy is extremely self-involved, but as the plot develops and she grows as a person – learning life-lessons along the way, she becomes a lot more endearing as a character.

I loved the lessons that were imparted throughout the story, but I did sometimes feel as though it was the author giving a lecture, rather than the story showing Maddy growing as a person. I was also disappointed that she wasn’t more active in choosing the direction her own life took. Her relationship choices felt as if they were made from fear of being alone, rather than her choosing them because they made her happy.

Having said that, this is a beautiful light-hearted read that imparts some wonderful lessons on the power of the human connection and how important community is, and a refreshing change from romances where it’s all about the couple. I thoroughly enjoyed it.

Recommended Readers

Fans of Nora Roberts, Danielle Steele, and Sophie Kinsella.

Kim Nash author photoAuthor Bio

Kim Nash lives in Staffordshire with son Ollie and English Setter Roni, is PR & Social Media Manager for Bookouture and is a book blogger at www.kimthebookworm.co.uk.

Kim won the Romantic Novelists Association’s Media Star of the Year in 2016, which she still can’t quite believe. She is now quite delighted to be a member of the RNA.

When she’s not working or writing, Kim can be found walking her dog, reading, standing on the sidelines of a football pitch cheering on Ollie and binge watching box sets on the TV. She’s also quite partial to a spa day and a gin and tonic (not at the same time!) Kim also runs a book club in Cannock, Staffs.

Amazing Grace was her debut novel with Hera Books and came out in April 2019.

Escape to Giddywell Grange is Kim’s second novel and will be published on September 18th 2019.

Social Media Links –

Twitter: (@KimTheBookworm) https://twitter.com/KimTheBookworm
Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/KimTheBookWorm/
Instagram: @Kim_the_bookworm