Blog Tour Banner for "If You Love Me, I'm Yours"

I’m delighted to be taking part in this blog tour hosted by Rachel’s Random Resources, and even more thrilled that I’m posting it on my website!

If You Love Me, I’m Yours by Lizzie Chantree was a delightful read that appealed to me on several levels.

Synopsis

Maud didn’t mind being boring, not really. She had a sensible job, clothes, and love life… if you counted an overbearing ex who had thanked her, rolled over and was snoring before she even realised he’d begun! She could tolerate not fulfilling her dreams, if her parents would pay her one compliment about the only thing she was passionate about in life: her art.

Dot should have fit in with her flamboyant and slightly eccentric family of talented artists, but somehow, she was an anomaly who couldn’t paint. She tried hard to be part of their world by becoming an art agent extraordinaire, but she dreamed of finding her own voice.

Dot’s brother Nate, a smoulderingly sexy and famous artist, was adored by everyone. His creative talent left them in awe of his ability to capture such passion on canvas. Women worshipped him, and even Dot’s friend Maud flushed and bumped into things when he walked into a room, but a tragic event in his past had left him emotionally and physically scarred, and reluctant to face the world again.

Someone was leaving exquisite little paintings on park benches, with a tag saying, ‘If you love me, I’m yours’. The art was so fresh and cutting-edge, that it generated a media frenzy and a scramble to discover where the mystery artist could be hiding. The revelation of who the prodigious artist was interlinked Maud, Dot and Nate’s lives forever, but their worlds came crashing down.

Were bonds of friendship, love and loyalty strong enough to withstand fame, success and scandal?

My Review

It’s difficult to quantify a book like this without feeling like you’re doing the author a disservice in some way.

On the surface, If You Love Me, I’m Yours, is a light-hearted romance, but it also deals with some deeper topics such as acceptance, self-worth and self-love. It’s difficult to fit those complex topics into such a short book, which is probably why I found myself rather annoyed by both Maud and Dot, for much the same reason: they didn’t know who they were and the way they went about finding out was painful and often whiny.

Having said that, the story redeemed the two main characters, and made me fall in love with the book as a whole, and I can’t express how much I thoroughly enjoyed certain aspects:

Art! Oh my art! If there’s a way to get my little reader’s heart beating fast, combine art, theatre, food and romance in a book. The fact that IYLMIY was all about the art world, and artists and paintings, and cosy little studios hidden behind garden hedges… *swoons* (Also: I want that studio!)

The friendships were real. It dealt with some rather interesting aspects of friendship, that most stories pretend don’t exist. Being jealous of your BFF’s other friends for instance! So true to life, and yet, no one ever tells you that’s a thing! Friendship is hard, especially when you don’t know who you are yourself, and this novel depicts it in the best way, with some lovely resolutions that made me feel all warm and fuzzy.

The romance. Tall, dark, brooding artistic genius? Check! Sweet, sensitive, caring gentleman? Check! Conflict and obstacles to the Happily Ever After? Check! A resolution that made sense and melted the icicles in your grinch-sized heart? Check again!

Overall, If You Love Me, I’m Yours by Lizzie Chantree earns four out of five Feathers.

Purchase the book here.

The Giveaway

Win signed copies of If You Love Me,  I’m Yours and Ninja School Mum (Open Internationally)

ENTER HERE

*Terms and Conditions –Worldwide entries welcome.  Please enter using the Rafflecopter box below.  The winner will be selected at random via Rafflecopter from all valid entries and will be notified by Twitter and/or email. If no response is received within 7 days then I reserve the right to select an alternative winner. Open to all entrants aged 18 or over.  Any personal data given as part of the competition entry is used for this purpose only and will not be shared with third parties, with the exception of the winners’ information. This will passed to the giveaway organiser and used only for fulfilment of the prize, after which time I will delete the data.  I am not responsible for despatch or delivery of the prize.

About the Author

Award-winning inventor and author, Lizzie Chantree, started her own business at the age of 18 and became one of Fair Play London and The Patent Office’s British Female Inventors of the Year in 2000. She discovered her love of writing fiction when her children were little and now runs networking hours on social media, where creative businesses, writers, photographers and designers can offer advice and support to each other. She lives with her family on the coast in Essex.

 Social Media Links –

Website: www.lizziechantree.com

Author page: viewAuthor.at/LizzieChantree

Twitter: https://twitter.com/Lizzie_Chantree

Facebook: https://www.facebook.com/lizzie.chantree.3

Instagram: https://www.instagram.com/lizzie_chantree/

Pinterest: https://www.pinterest.co.uk/LizzieChantree/pins/

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *